What they’re saying

About the new album “Soulful”

About the album “Shelter Island”

Soulful is the best smooth jazz album this year. I can tell Cal spent a great deal of time writing the compositions on this effort as every single song stands on its own. When the entire album was released, I figured from the singles, it would be a good album, and I was correct. It’s an excellent CD.
— Robert G. Raynor - customer from Amazon.com
This well-produced, solid project, Soulful, by pianist/keyboardist Cal Harris Jr. sparkles with originality and character with a sizable emphasis on real c-jazz combined with just the right amount of R&B and funk to make it one of the best well-rounded albums I’ve heard to date.
— Ronald Jackson - The Smooth Jazz Ride
This artist has been putting out great music from day one. Plug this CD in and you will not want to take it out. Definitely one for your keepsakes.
— CA Dawg - customer from Amazon.com

About the album “Inside Out”

Light and airy, heavy and soulful, rich and full. It’s all here. Pianist/keyboardist Cal Harris Jr. is a delightful breath of fresh air full of charismatic charm, snug fitting soul and contemporary feels, and expertly phrased melodies in this gem entitled Inside Out.
— Ronald Jackson - The Smooth Jazz Ride
She Loves the Water (is) easily one of the finest contemporary efforts we’ve come across in years… a slice of pure unadulterated groove heaven.
— Ted Hasiuk - Café Jazz
This fine collection of all original music has the red thread of quality running right through it.
— Dennis Poole - Smooth Jazz Therapy
Cal’s contemporary compositions offer smooth and insatiable melodies that sweep across the palates of his listeners.
— Cres O’Neal - Jazzin 'Em Up
Esteemed contemporary jazz keyboardist Cal Harris Jr. definitely brings the “smooth” and the “sexy” back to Smooth Jazz with his outstanding sophomore release, SHELTER ISLAND. Mr. Harris has concocted a luscious concept album that will whisk you away to exotic, mysterious places where you can reconnect with your higher self and feel truly stress-free. He’s gathered top-shelf talent to support his beautiful playing, too. Sax work from Marion Meadows, Elan Trotman, and talented newcomer Keith McKelley, together with Ricky Lawson (Yellowjackets) on drums and up-and-coming indie guitarist Joel del Rosario, add immeasurably to the lovely patina of the ten original tracks, including the radio hits “Smooth” and “By the Bay.” I must tell you - this is one of the most beautifully assembled and performed keyboard-driven albums I’ve heard so far this year… one that any Smooth Jazz aficionado would be delighted to include in their collection. That means you!
— Scott O'Brien - SmoothJazz.com
With a lot of romance and seduction oozing from this set, it’s hard not to be taken by this project. With this album, and in the right setting, you could just lose yourself in the moment with that special someone.
— Ronald Jackson - The Smooth Jazz Ride
Cal Harris, Jr. is gifted with the knack for leaving his audience feeling refreshed, and soothed after listening to his tunes. His latest creation, “Smooth” featuring the incredible sax work of Elan Trotman, follows suit, if it has not raised the bar. Smooth is as good as it gets. With its pounding, rhythmic beats, Smooth is sultry, sexy, and a wonderful masterpiece.
— Cres O'Neal - Jazzin 'Em Up